Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Ancient Footprints at White Sands

February 1 | 8:30 pm - 9:45 pm EST

Ancient Footprints at White Sands

Upending the chronology of the peopling of the Americas

Presented by: Kathleen Springer and Jeff Pigati | U.S. Geological Survey

When: Tuesday, February 1, 2022 | 5:30 PT; 6:30 MT; 7:30 CT; 8:30 ET

Our presenters are part of an international team that made the startling discovery of human footprints within sedimentary layers beneath the White Sands area in New Mexico. They were instrumental in applying a novel technique for dating the footprints, leading to the astonishing result that Native Americans inhabited this part of North America far earlier than the conventional scientific knowledge.

The patterns of human footprints—and those of Pleistocene animals such as mammoths, dire wolves, and ground sloths —tell some fascinating stories of the interactions of the people with each other and with those now-extinct animals.

Please join us to hear a fascinating story of a significant effort that bears on an important time in human history.

REGISTER

Open to all high school students. Pre-registration is required.

Please note the start time and time zone you reside in for this national teen science café.

 

Details

Date:
February 1
Time:
8:30 pm - 9:45 pm EST
Event Categories:
, ,

Venue

ONLINE

Organizer

Teen Science Café Network