Webinar: Supporting Teen Cafés in Rural & Isolated Communities

Webinar: Supporting Teen Cafés in Rural & Isolated Communities

October 8 at 9 am PDT, 10 am MDT, 11 AM CDT and 12 pm EDT

OR

October 9 at 11am PDT, 12 pm MDT, 1PM CDT and 2PM EDT

  • Is your teen science café serving teens in rural or more isolated communities?
  • Do you have challenges in finding STEM experts within your greater community to work with teens?
  • Would you like to start a teen science café in a rural area near you?
  • Have you experimented or wanted to experiment with virtual tools to enhance your rural teen cafes?
  • If you answered yes to any of these questions, we would like to talk with you.

We are interested in bringing together café site leaders of rural, small, or more isolated communities to brainstorm ways to reduce the isolation of your teens from the larger STEM world. We would like to create a means for you to share your best approaches for finding STEM most everywhere in smaller communities.  We would also like to explore ideas for using technology to bring your teens closer to STEM minded peers and STEM experts from around the country. That same technology approach could also be used to provide support and professional development for site leaders in making changes to their café events.

We have an NSF grant to work on building and studying TSCs in rural communities. We have identified 20+ sites that might fit the description of rural or isolated communities. But, you know best whether you are serving a rural or isolated community, or are facing challenges in finding presenters in your rural community.

Please join us for an online discussion if you are interested in this topic. In addition to sharing ideas, you’ll have a chance to find out more about the new rural TSC project. We will have two Go To Meeting events, one on October 8thand the other on the 9thto attempt to accommodate everyone’s schedules. We will summarize the ideas from the online discussions so that all can keep abreast of the topic.


Webinar: Supporting Teen Cafes in Rural and Isolated Communities 

October 8 at 9 am Pacific, 10 am Mountain, 11 AM Central and Noon Eastern  OR
October 9, 11am Pacific, 12 pm Mountain, 1PM Central and 2PM Eastern

Please join my meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/649455157

You can also dial in using your phone.
United States: +1 (312) 757-3121

Access Code: 649-455-157

Join from a video-conferencing room or system.
Dial in or type: 67.217.95.2 or inroomlink.goto.com
Meeting ID: 649 455 157
Or dial directly: 649455157@67.217.95.2 or 67.217.95.2##649455157

New to GoToMeeting? Get the app now and be ready when your first meeting starts:
https://global.gotomeeting.com/install/649455157